GSoC’18 Week 1

Hi everyone,

The first week of the coding period was great and I got to learn a lot of new things. My mentors help me on every stage and the work is going on as planned πŸ™‚

The aim of my project is to create kids interest in drawing, designing, animations, and graphics through educational activities in GCompris. I started with the “Drawing” activity. This activity will provide the tools and workspace to the kids for drawing beautiful arts and know about the basic drawing tools. This activity was started in the previous GSoC, but it still requires a lot of work and new tools implementations. The main aim is to provide as much as possible canvas region to draw on. I and my mentors decided to make a foldable-panels based UI. Here is the first look at the activity, it still needs a lot of work on UI, which I have planned to do in upcoming weeks.

paint

For displaying different brushes, stamps, and settings for a tool available, we will be displaying a pop-up for these settings. First look at the tools mode ->

paint

Improvement in the overall UI is still in progress. Other than this, I have been working on refactoring the current code for this activity and breaking the whole code into various elements. For the next week, my main task is to complete the overall UI of this activity and add more geometries for drawing.

I’d appreciate your feedback on the work done so far and suggestions on the improvement of this activity.

Work branch -> https://cgit.kde.org/gcompris.git/log/?h=gsoc_asagtani_paint

Link to proposal -> https://www.dropbox.com/s/79jq0ltkg4rv8ir/GSoC_KDE_amit.pdf?dl=0

Happy coding πŸ™‚

One thought on “GSoC’18 Week 1

Leave a comment